Epic Perfect World

digital: SAI tips sharing

Offline Soleil

• it's been a while :)
  • happy holidays :)
  • Characters: TinyEG
  • Faction: Gemini
as i finished my second digital painting with SAI, i'm still learning new things. i thought i'd make this thread for digital graphic users who care to share anything they want about their methods.

i've read somewhere that for an artist, it's nice to work hard but even nicer to work smart. so anything that can help us work better and faster is welcome here.

tips that will be posted here may be covered on one of those zillions tutorials on the net but it doesn't matter. if what you discover on your own makes you work better and you'd like to share it, you're welcome to it.

the tip i'd like to share today is about the pin that holds the cape on my male figure (here)

i started to draw it normally on a separate layer but got very frustrated because it was all pixelated and really ugly, it's size being so small for such a large canvas.

so,

- clicked on the dotted square (above the tools) --> checked the transform box --> made the layer way bigger and re-drew/coloured it nicely

- retransformed the layer to its original size

and voilà, the pin was nicely done.

as i mentioned, if you want to share and/or comment, you are all welcome to it.
Il faut collectionner les pierres qu'on vous jette. C'est le début d'un piédestal.― Berlioz

Offline GelloAce

• Characters: Kiero
  • Faction: Ducks
Thanks for this, gave me idea for the eyes xD

Offline Soleil

Thanks for this, gave me idea for the eyes xD

np, Gello, and i'm sure there is more than one way to do that. for instance, the edit button but i'm still not sure how/when to use it.
Il faut collectionner les pierres qu'on vous jette. C'est le début d'un piédestal.― Berlioz

Offline Soleil

another one i just found: how to turn a coloured layer to grey tones

- click on layer that is already coloured and you want to make grey